Baby Apple Muffins

So many moms of toddlers find themselves with an abundance of baby cereal their independent tykes no longer want to be fed.  I am one of these moms.  I can always make it for her and let her eat it herself but went searching for recipes that incorporated the cereal for a less-messy route.  This recipe is my variation of a couple different recipes I found.  Today I finally had muffins that were share-worthy.

Baby Apple Oatmeal Muffins

1 cup flour (any works, I used white whole grain)
1/4 cup sugar
2 tsp baking powder
1 cup dry infant oatmeal cereal
1/2 cup whole milk
2 Tbsp Natural Unsweetened Applesauce
3 eggs
1 tsp cinnamon
1 apple, peeled and chopped

In a large bowl, mix together flour, sugar, baking powder, cinnamon and infant cereal.

In a separate bowl, beat eggs and mix in milk, applesauce and apple chunks. Add to dry mix and stir only until blended.

Spoon batter into 24-count mini-muffin pan coated with cooking spray; batter will be very thick and cups should be full.

Bake at 425 degrees for 5 minutes, then reduce heat to 350 degrees until done. (I’ll bake them again and try to get a better approximate baking time, but they will be golden, sturdy and a toothpick will come out clean.)

 

Nutrition Facts (as derived from My Fitness Pal, not science):
Serving size: 1 mini-muffin

Calories: 45
Fat: 1 g
Cholesterol: 28 mg
Sodium: 47 mg
Potassium: 37 mg
Carbs: 8 g
Protein: 2 g

20140329-105703.jpg

9 responses to this post.

  1. Did you ever find an approximate baking time after reducing heat to 350? I have a gas oven and another 5 minutes did the trick.

    Reply

  2. Posted by Mandy on October 18, 2015 at 3:00 pm

    Did you ever get a more exact baking time on these?

    Reply

    • Posted by Amanda on October 18, 2015 at 3:10 pm

      It’s been so long I don’t recall, but I know it was under 10. I had a nonstick mini muffin pan. Another reader found 5 more minutes to be good. They will feel more firm and be golden brown.

      Reply

  3. Posted by Joanna on October 21, 2015 at 11:53 pm

    Do these freeze well?

    Reply

    • Posted by Amanda on October 22, 2015 at 7:17 am

      Yes I froze them with no problem. To thaw, I put them in the microwave under a damp paper towel for a few seconds or let them thaw at room temperature in the bag I froze them in. My only suggestion would be to freeze them in small portions. Seemed when I put the whole batch in the freezer and opened the bag every day they tasted pretty stale by the end of the bag.

      Reply

      • Posted by joanna on October 25, 2015 at 2:47 am

        Thanks! I’m gonna try to wrap two together and put them in a freezer bag or container. As for the extra baking time others asked about it I baked for 5min at 425 another 5 at 350 and then an extra 3 minutes at 350 to get a clean toothpick. So an additional 8 minutes at 350 did the trick 🙂

  4. Posted by Lisa on October 20, 2016 at 6:01 am

    What age are these good for? My daughter is 1 and only has a few teeth. I made these, but with the quick baking time the apples aren’t soft enough.

    Reply

  5. These are great, I’ve made them twice now for my daughter. I sub the sugar for maple syrup and have use full fat coconut milk from the can as well as soy milk the second time. Both came out wonderful.

    Reply

  6. Posted by emily Lyle on April 21, 2017 at 10:05 pm

    thanks for this neat recipe I have all this left over rice cereal and didn’t want it to waste so now I’m going to make a few batches of these and freeze for my little one and my two older boys for a grab and go snack for breakfast or for their lunches. Also I did the regular size muffins as I don’t have a mini but at the 425 at 5 mins. and then 350 for 10-12 mins. seemed to work for me until the tooth pick was clean and they were delicious. again thank you

    Reply

Leave a Reply

